WiseTime Desktop App
For WiseTime to capture your activity on your computer, you will need to download and install the WiseTime desktop application. These are the nuts and bolts that work behind the scenes to passively capture your timeline of activity. The desktop app then sends this activity to the online console for you to review. If you are using multiple computers, you will need to install the WiseTime desktop app on each computer.
Installing the Desktop App
Installing WiseTime on Mac OS X
1 . Download the installer (.dmg file) from the WiseTime download page located at window="_blank" (the installer will auto-detect your operating system version).
2 . Open and run the installer, then drag and drop the WiseTime icon into your Applications directory.
3 . WiseTime is now installed on your computer ready for you to launch.
4 . To launch WiseTime you can locate it in the applications folder, use spotlight to search for it, or selecting it from the Go menu on the Finder bar located at the top of the screen.
Install WiseTime on Windows
1 . Download the installer (.msi file) from the WiseTime download page located at window="_blank" (the download page will auto-detect your operating system version).
2 . Double-click to run the installer, read the license agreement and if you agree to the terms, click on the checkbox.
And then click 'Install'.
3 . WiseTime is now installed on your computer, and will be launched automatically if you leave the checkbox on for the auto install. Otherwise, you will need manually start WiseTime. WiseTime can be started from the desktop shortcut or Start > Programs > WiseTime. The WiseTime icon should now be displayed in the system tray, which is located by your computers clock.
4 . Login to WiseTime. When you launch WiseTime for the first time, it will ask for username and password.
Installing WiseTime on Ubuntu
WiseTime software for Ubuntu is a portable application in AppImage format.
1 . Download the .AppImage file from the WiseTime download page located at window="_blank". (the installer will auto-detect your operating system version).
2 . Given executable permission to the AppImage file.
Right-click on the AppImage, and select 'Properties' menu item.
In the 'Properties' dialog, check 'Allow executing file as program'.
Another way to give executable permission to WiseTime AppImage is via a command in your terminal.
chmod a+x WiseTime-*.AppImage
WiseTime can be started by double-clicking on the AppImage file.
The Desktop App Menu
Once the WiseTime App is installed and running, you can access it at anytime by clicking on the WiseTime icon in your system tray, which is located by your computer’s clock. From here you will be able to pause and resume activity logging and quickly link to your WiseTime console.
You will need to have an internet connection in order to open your WiseTime console, however if you are disconnected, the WiseTime App will continue to operate and log your activity even when you are offline. It will then sync & upload the activity to the console when your internet connection is re-established.
Pause and Resume
The WiseTime App will track your activity when the app is running. If you want to pause logging you can do so by simply selecting 'Pause' from the app menu for the desired timeframe. It is important to note that while WiseTime is paused, no timelog entries will be collected.
The Pause until tomorrow option will allow WiseTime to automatically resume at 12:00am the next day.
The Pause indefinitely option will stop recording your activity until you are ready to manually resume it again.
Once you have paused WiseTime, confirmation of successful pause is shown by the change of logo on Windows or on Mac.
When you are ready, you can select 'Resume' to start logging again. At the end of each Pause period, a message box will pop-up to inform you that WiseTime has resumed logging and your WiseTime icon will return to normal.
Privacy & Preferences
Under Preferences in the app menu you are able to adjust your privacy options, manual time prompt settings and adjust language settings. Preferences are broken down into three categories - general, privacy and update preferences (1).
At the bottom of the preferences window you will also find information about the version (2) of WiseTime that you are running.
Manual Away Time Prompt
The manual time prompt is a helpful reminder for logging offline activity. If enabled, the app will use your set time preferences to detect inactivity (e.g no mouse or keyboard activity) and prompt you to add manual time upon your return. The time setting is adjustable from 2-10 minutes.
If you choose to log time from the prompt, a pop-up window will give you options to categorize your time and alter the amount logged. If you do not want to record your time you can ignore the notification or click Don’t Log. Keep in mind you can add manual entries at any time in your console.
WiseTime can be viewed in the following five languages:
These language options will affect only the desktop application elements, such as the preferences screen, the manual time prompt and any other desktop application messages.
Excluding App Names & Windows Titles.
To help you distinguish your private activities from your work, you can specify which app names and window title keywords you would like excluded from your time logs. Any time entries which contain the app names or window titles that you specify in these settings will not be captured and will not appear in your timeline on the console.
For example, if you add 'Firefox' in the Excluded App Names text box it will exclude all activity in that application. If you would just like to exclude specific websites or program popups you can add 'window title' keywords to the Excluded Window Titles text box. For example, by adding 'Facebook' you will exclude any time that you were on Facebook, no matter which web browser you use and it will not be uploaded into your WiseTime console.
To add multiple options, simply add the names in the appropriate exclusion field seperated by a line break or comma.
Here you can select if you wish the app to automatically detect updates, as well as how frequently you would like this to happen. This ensures that you are always using the latest version of the desktop app. If you don’t wish to have this checked automatically you can manually check for updates from the menu at any time.
You can also enable beta updates to ensure you’re the first to receive new features. Beta channel updates are pre-release updates that we release to our community ahead of a full release. At times these can have some glitches however they are thoroughly tested prior to releasing to the beta environment. The benefits of the beta updates is that you receive the latest features as soon as they are ready.
Logout & Quit vs. Quit WiseTime
The Logout & Quit feature requires you to log back in the next time you activate WiseTime by using your Practice Insight account log in details (email and password).
If you select Quit WiseTime it will save your login credentials and shutdown the WiseTime App. It will then remember your login credentials for you the next time your run the WiseTime App.
Choosing the Help option sends you to this WiseTime User Guide which is frequently updated.
If you ever experience any issues feel free to reach out to our tech support team by sending us a diagnostic file. This will allow you to send a detailed message along with an activity log file to inform our support team of what environment you are using WiseTime in, e.g operating system, WiseTime version and log file. This helps our technical support have all the information they need to quickly and effectively assist.